Amazon now collecting online sales taxes in three more states

online sales taxes

online sales taxes

Amazon collects online sales tax from 3 more statesMore states across the country have passed laws requiring Amazon to collect its online sales taxes. As of January 1st, 2014 shoppers in Indiana, Nevada, and Tennessee will now need to pay online sales taxes when they shop with the online retailer.

At this point, 19 states now have laws that require Amazon to collect sales taxes. North Carolina is set to join this group as well starting February 1st. South Carolina legislators have also passed a law that will require Amazon to start collecting sales taxes starting in 2016.

Amazon continues to battle against these laws. Company representatives stand by their reasoning that as an online retailer, Amazon shouldn’t be held to the same tax laws as a company with a physical presence in a state.

Please follow and like us:
Tagged with:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.