April 2018 Rates are here

As always, there are many changes to sales and use tax rates as of April 1st.  If you are subscribed to Online Lookup or the API services, these rates will be reflected as of midnight on April 1st.  If you are subscribed to our tax tables services, these rate tables are available for download from your Web login.

In Alaska, tax rates changed for Sitka, Skagway, Seldovia and Whittier.

In Alabama, tax rates changed for Opp, Wilcox County, Valley Head and Repton.

In California, tax rates changed for Mendocino County, Burlingame, Farmersville, Hawthorne, Larkspur, Palm Springs, Santa Barbara, Vacaville, Woodlake, La Mirada, and Nevada City.

In Georgia, tax rates changed for the counties of Dekalb, Haralson, Clarke, Colquitt, Decatur, Putnam, Walker, and Ware.

In Kansas, tax rates changed for the counties of Cowley and Finney, Alden, Baxter Springs, Danville, Herington, Palco, Tipton and Whitewater.

In Minnesota, tax rates changed for Kandiyohi County.

In Missouri, tax rates changed for Greene County, Granby, Archie, Branson, Dardenne Prairie, Fordland, Pagedale, Peculiar, Pine Lawn, Saint Louis, and Shelbina.

In North Dakota, tax rates changed for Edgeley, Grand Forks, Lincoln, and Mohall.

In Nebraska, tax rates changed for Norfolk.

In Oklahoma, tax rates changed for Johnston and Pontotoc Counties, Del City, Spencer, The Village and Wagoner.

In Texas, tax rates changed for Arp, Brock, Coupland, Darrouzett, Dennis, Devers, Kirbyville, La Villa, Oak Ridge, Panorama Village, Stratford, and areas of Palo Pinto and Potter Counties, and Sachse.

In Utah, tax rates changed for Syracuse, Fairview, and Cedar Hills.

In Washington, tax rates changed for the Counties of Clallam, Okanogan and Columbia, Connell, Ellensburg, Long Beach, Moses Lake, Mukilteo and Sequim.

In Wisconsin, tax rates changed for Calumet County.

In Wyoming, tax rates changed for Niobrara County.

sales and use tax rate changes



March 2018 Rate Changes

In Arizona,

where sAZ DOR Sealales tax is called Transaction Privilege Tax (TPT), rates were changed for Globe, Tucson, Prescott, and Sedona.
The Arizona Department of Revenue (ADOR) previously maintained a phone number specifically set up for transaction privilege tax questions: 1-844-698-9176.  This number is no longer in service, and inquiries should be directed to the following Customer Care phone numbers: Customer Care: 602-255-3381 or Toll-free from within Arizona: 1-800-352-4090

In other states, adjustments were made to our data for Central, AL and Kansas City, MO in Clay and Platte Counties.

There were 23 states with ZIP code changes effective after February 2018 including Alaska, Arkansas, Arizona, Connecticut, DC, Florida, Georgia, Iowa, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Maryland, Missouri, North Carolina, Nebraska, New Mexico, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Texas, Virginia, Washington and West Virginia.

 Yes, we have Canadian Tax Rates

Don’t leave your Canadian customers out in the cold when it comes to sales tax in the shopping cart.
GST Our .CSV Sales Tax Tables and Use Tax Tables offer a wide range of options to meet your needs, including online shopping cart integration, ERP system platforms, call centers and invoicing programs. Single state, entire US and/or Canada, monthly subscriptions…whatever you need. All ZIP codes included—over 12,000 jurisdictions!

New Year, New Tax Rates

The following sales/use tax jurisdictions made changes effective January 1, 2018.

In Alabama, tax rates changed for Center Point, Good Hope, Waverly and for Covington County.

In Arkansas, tax rates changed for Brinkley, Bull Shoals, De Witt, Franklin County, Hamburg, Malvern, Mountain Home, North Little Rock, Tontitown and Woodruff County.

In Arizona, tax rates changed for Globe and Prescott.

In Colorado, tax rates changed for Firestone, Fort Morgan, Haxton, La Junta, Larimer County, Longmont, Mesa County, Ouray County, Red Cliff, Rocky Ford, San Juan County and Wiggins.

In Illinois, tax rates changed for Assumption, Mount Vernon, New Lenox, Phoenix, Thornton, Williamsville and Woodstock.

In Kansas, tax rates changed for Herrington, Merriam and Mission Woods.

In Louisiana, tax rates changed for Lawtell, Lebeau, Morrow and New Iberia.

In Minnesota, tax rates changed for East Grand Forks, Fergus Falls, Garrison, Morrison County, Mower County, Nicollet County, Polk County, Stearns County and Walker.

In Missouri, tax rates changed for Campbell, Carrollton, Chariton County, Charleston, Clay County, Dunklin County, Garden City, Grandview, Kennett, Lawson, Macon, Rich Hill and Viburnum.

In North Dakota, tax rates changed for New Town.

In New Jersey, the state tax rate changed.

In New Mexico, tax rates changed for Chaves County, Eddy County, Rio Arriba County, Santa Fe County, Socorro County and Tijeras.

In Ohio, tax rates changed for Knox and Warren County.

In Oklahoma, tax rates changed for Boley, Major County, Midwest City, Oklahoma City, and Pryor.

In South Dakota, tax rates changed for Bruce and McLaughlin.

In Texas, tax rates changed for Big Sandy and Rice.

In Washington, tax rates changed for Pacific County and Port Angeles.

In Wisconsin, tax rates changed for Brown County.

In West Virginia, tax rates changed for Wayne, Weston and White Hall.

Tax Changes Effective December 1, 2017

December is the last month of the last quarter of 2017.  There are only two states with changes to report.  This is typical for this time of year…..waiting for the many changes expected in January of the new year.

In Arizona, where sales tax is called Transaction Privilege Tax (TPT), the rates changed for Pinetop-Lakeside.

In Alabama, the following rate changes were noted since November 2017:

  1. Town of Cedar Bluff, up to 2.5%
  2. AL DOR sealCity of Centreville, now at 2%
  3. Town of Cuba is now 3%
  4. City of Geraldine increased 1%
  5. City of Gadsden went up to 5%
  6. City of Glencoe increased from 4 to 5%
  7. Town of Mentone is now 4%
  8. the City of Montevallo is now 5%
  9. The City of Southside is 5%

Just a quick note for sales taxes in the Town of Kinston, Alabama: the Town is now going to collect taxes instead of using the State services.

Effective with your taxes for the tax period ending December 31, 2017, which are due on or before January 20, 2018, the Town of Kinston’s sales tax will be administered by:

Town of Kinston Revenue Discovery Systems Post Office Box 830275 Birmingham, AL 35283-0725 1-800-556-7274 These taxes may continue to be remitted online through My Alabama Taxes (MAT), the ‘ONE SPOT’ to file: https://myalabamataxes.alabama.gov


ZIP changesSome ZIP code changes were found in the following states: Colorado, Florida, Illinois, Ohio, Puerto Rico, and Washington.

Ever get this annoying message when trying to lookup a tax rate by ZIP?

invalid zip message

That is because you entered a ZIP code that is no longer in service with the USPS.  Yes, the USPS does delete ZIP codes when they consolidate regions.  Zip2Tax will keep our ZIP database up-to-date to assist you.

Find more information about how to use our Sales Tax Calculator here.




« Older Entries